top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureErianna Speaks

Dear Future Student,

Dear Incoming Student,


I came to NDSU as a transfer student this semester. In a way, I came in almost like a Freshman, not knowing anyone, not even knowing a lot about the school, but that I had to get good grades. Coming here in my mind was a big gray area and it may start off that way for you too. After a while, I promise it won’t be. Here’s a few tips and shortcuts that got me through this semester:


First things first: You’ve got to know where you’re going. Campus really isn’t that big once you get familiar. The weekend before classes started, I asked my roommates to show me around campus. This maybe different for you if you’re a Freshman and don’t know anyone. That’s cool– go with your roommates and walk around campus together. If you don’t like them or feel awkward doing that, every building has a sign with the name on it. Better yet, ask the staff. Either way, you’re bound to find your way around, fast!


Once you find your classes you need to actually know how to stay organized with your classes. In my dorm, I had two things that helped me stay organized: a calendar white board and printed sheets on my wall of the class schedule and due dates. Maybe for you, that means a planner or to-do list. For me, those two things gave me a visual of what I needed to get done. Trying to stay organized in my head was too much. However, not having any method of staying organized will not work, so save yourself the mental breakdown, and find a method that can work for you.


I’m not going to give you generic advice and say, “you should sit in the front!” because if you’re not comfortable with that, you don’t have to, there will be many more seats to choose from. As long as you can see, hear, and have easy access to leave the room for the bathroom, etc. you’re good to go. Note: if you come to class literally right before it starts, all the “good seats” will be taken and at that point whatever seat you get, is what it is.


One of the advantages of coming in as a transfer student for me that I wasn’t necessarily scared to talk to people. Once again, I’m not going to give you generic advice and say, “You should talk to everyone, especially everyone you sit next to in class!” If you feel comfortable talking to someone, go for it. If not, don’t worry about it. It may take until the end of the semester for you to click with people. Remember you are not the only one feeling the way you do. In the beginning of the semester, events, club sign up, and activities will be at their prime. This will be overwhelming and you will feel a lot of pressure to participate in football games, sororities, hall activities, etc. and if your roommates don’t want to go, don’t limit yourself to those experiences. Yeah, going by yourself feels lame and uncomfortable, but what’s the worst that can happen? You go back to your dorm without a new best friend? College is probably one of the safest spaces to make friends and to get involved! So take advantage because when you get older, making friends gets a lot harder. Pro-tip: Your roommates don’t have to be your best friends, you just live with them.


Remember, your main goal is to get good grades and everything else will follow! By the end of the semester, you should be finding your place! ☺


Good luck,

Erianna Jiles

75 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page